Author: Seattle Area Archivists

Editing as Activism: Edit-A-Thon to Correct Systemic Bias in Wikipedia!

Editing as Activism: Edit-A-Thon to Correct Systemic Bias in Wikipedia

Date: Saturday, November 2, 2019

Time: 9 AM-1 PM

Location: University of Washington Libraries Research Commons, Allen Library South

RSVP form: bit.ly/2nZQL9f

Facebook event: bit.ly/30FdS6h

  • Help address the systematic biases relating to gender, race, and social class that lead to underrepresentation of topics, people, and organizations on Wikipedia! 
  • Editors of all levels of experience welcome! 
  • Edit and create pages that improve Wikipedia’s coverage of historically marginalized communities with an emphasis on labor history found in the Labor Archives of Washington. 
  • Novice editors encouraged to attend an advance online tutorial that will be available to registrants. Support for beginners will be available onsite! 
  • For experts, we will also have specialized help for working with Wikidata.
  • Bring your laptops and power cords. A limited number of laptops will be available for loan. 
  • We will share a list of books, articles, and archival finding aids to edit with or editors can bring their own. A list of suggested entries and archival collections to add will be provided. We will help teach new editors how to edit at this workshop! 
  • All are welcome; this event is geared towards University of Washington student, faculty, and community members. 
  • Light refreshments will be served.

Free webinar today “Digital Access to Dispersed Records: A Look at Native American Boarding School Records”!

Reminder to sign up for the FREE WEBINAR: “Digital Access to Dispersed Records: A Look at Native American Boarding School Records,” collaboratively hosted by SAA’s Native American Archives Section, Human Rights Archives Section, and the National Native American Boarding School Healing Coalition.

When: Indigenous People’s Day, Monday, October 14, 2019
Time: 12 pm PT / 1 pm MT / 2 pm CT / 3 pm ET
Register here: www.pathlms.com/saa/webinars/6529

 
In this webinar, the Native American Boarding School Healing Coalition (NABS) will discuss their initiative to identify and collect nationally dispersed Native American boarding school records as well as implement digital access to these vital records. As part of a broader effort to provide access to and information about those impacted by Native American boarding schools, the NABS’s digital archive brings together digital surrogates of historical documents held by individuals and institutions across the United States, including libraries, state archives, federal archives such as the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), universities, colleges, schools, and other resources. As the project grows, the team at the NABS looks to archivists for guidance, assistance, and support.